Turn Your Favorite Song Into a Poem

music typewriterWriting prompt:

Pick a song, one with lyrics that really speak to you, and turn it into a poem. Stay true to the meaning and the story but feel free to delete and add small parts. Reorder words, lines and entire paragraphs if you want. You can choose to stay true to the rhythm/rhyme scheme/point of view, or you can change it. As long as you focus on discovering and strengthening the parts that stir emotion within yourself, you can do whatever you want. 

I completed this prompt with the song “Monsters.” Written and performed by Timeflies, featuring Katie SkyWatch the music video here! 

timeflies

Rob Resnick and Cal Shapiro from Timeflies

 

“Monsters”

A poem by Sarah Schneekloth

based on a song by Timeflies

 

I know it can’t get worse than today,

sitting here

while she’s trying to rehearse what to say.

She’s in the bathroom, hoping I’m not in earshot.

A cup of coffee still steaming, staring back at me

and it’s blacker than the night.

I’m awake but still sleeping.

 

She’s getting used to the sound of her teardrops.

 

Splash,

it hits the towel.

 

I know it’s been awhile

since you’ve seen me smile and laugh.

I’ve been in denial since it happened.

I can’t explain this

so I keep it all inside,

wear my pain

but it’s masked by my pride.

She finally came to hold me and she cried.

She stared into my eyes and said…

 

“I see your monsters.

I see your pain.

Tell me your problems,

I’ll chase them away.

I’ll be your lighthouse. I’ll make it okay.

When I see your monsters I’ll stand there so brave,

and chase them all away.”

 

I can’t,

you won’t like what you see,

if you were in my head and had to hear my plea.

And could someone please shut off this fucking answering machine,

so I can stop leaving these messages that you will never get.

And all these cries for help you’ll never see,

you’ll never check.

But I guess it’s easy for you to leave.

But believe me, this isn’t something I’ll just forget.

I’m still sitting here wondering

who did it

while I’m staring out our front door, knowing

you’ll never walk through.

Said you’d come right back.

A blank stare as I stand so alone,

I know you’re never coming home.

 

I’ve got a heart made of fools gold,

All the promises I told, they keep chipping away.

It’s hard to get to know me

when I don’t know myself.

And it helps cause I felt I was down,

I was out.

Then you looked at me and said…

 

“I see your monsters.

I see your pain.

Tell me your problems,

I’ll chase them away.

I’ll be your lighthouse. I’ll make it okay.

When I see your monsters I’ll stand there so brave,

and chase them all away.”

 

Now I have to be so brave.

I’ll chase this away.

 

About Sarah JS

Aspiring writer, lover of words, book nerd, working editor, and permanent student of the world

Posted on July 28, 2014, in Writing, Writing Prompts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Awesome idea! A lot of my poems are based on songs, but not using any of the actual lyrics.

Leave a Reply

