NaNoWriMo: My Writing Plan and Adjusted Goals

Photo taken from deviant art.com

Photo taken from deviant art.com

This will be my first year participating in NaNoWritMo. As I am in the middle of writing my first novel, I am going to use NaNo to punch through to the end of it! I am not a fast writer. I’m constantly worried about getting the facts right, the plot and characters staying consistent and that slows me down, a lot. To get out of this groove, I have set up some rules for myself for Novemeber.

As a writer with an unrelated full-time job, finding time to write can be difficult. When I do sit down to write, its typically only for 2-3 hours. These rules will help me make more time to write than I usually do. A lot of time that I usually spend reading (like my hour-long lunch breaks) I plan to switch to writing time.

My Plan for NaNoWriMo:

October:

  1. Finish the editing of my manuscript so far so I can move forward with confidence
  2. Do a little research on ideas
  3. Create “Facts” list on my story
  4. Write down vague plot plan/ideas

November:be writing

  1. Do not read any books
    1. Unless it is a writing book for prompts/ideas/advice
  2. Write no blog posts (although I do have a few saved up that I will post)
  3. Write every single day
    1. Even if its just 1 paragraph!
    2. Write every day after supper
      1. If I can’t, either wake up early to write or do so before I go to bed
    3. Write on my lunch breaks
    4. Weekends: wake up early to start writing
  4. If my novel plot has me stumped…
    1. Make a list of possible next moves
    2. Write an unrelated scene that might happen in the far future or a past scene I previously skipped
    3. If I get stuck, the quote poetry would be a good prompt
  5. No editing. Period.
  6. Resist going back to check facts of the story. If its not on my facts sheet, make a note and move on
  7. Keep moving forward!

I’m excited and a little nervous for NaNoWriMo. Because of my full-time job and my haunting quality as a slow writer, I’m not expecting to reach the 50,000-word goal. Instead, I have set up my own goals.

writing

My Goals for NaNoWriMo:

  1. Finish the very-rough first draft of my novel
  2. Create a habit of spending more time writing
  3. Improve my ability to keep writing and letting go of the need to double check and edit my work so often

If I reach the 50,000 words that’s great! But I feel the goals above are more important than a word count and will be things I can carry with me past the month of November.

 

What’s your plan for NaNoWriMo?

Or are you completely winging it? 🙂

About Sarah JS

Aspiring writer, lover of words, book nerd, working editor, and permanent student of the world

Posted on October 29, 2014, in A Writer's Life, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

