Interstellar Movie Review

Produced by Christopher Nolan. Written by Christopher Nolan and Jonathan Nolan.

Produced by Christopher Nolan. Written by Christopher Nolan and Jonathan Nolan.

Last night I got the opportunity to view a special IMAX viewing of the movie Interstellar before it opens in theaters on Friday and it was the best movie viewing experience I have ever had.

It is the most mind-blowing, revolutionary, engaging film I have seen. I recently saw Gone Girl in theaters which blew me away and is still an exceptional movie but it simply does not compare to Interstellar. The circular plot line, the un-linear structure, the emotion-driven characters, the never-before-seen special effects, and the unmatched intelligence that populate this film are unlike any story I have ever read, seen, or heard. Viewing the movie on the oversized IMAX screen is worth the extra money. The space scenes and special effects on the IMAX convey the story in the way it is meant to be told; larger than the universe.

As a current participant of National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo), this epic story made me want to throw my novel in trash because comparatively, trash is all it is. After another hour of thinking of nothing but the movie, I was even more rejuvenated to push my own writing forward. I write with the ultimate goal of being able to astound readers like Interstellar astounded me.

An hour after the movie ended, I sat down at my keyboard and had the most productive hour of NaNoWriMo so far! I know my story will never compare to what the Nolan brothers have written but I reminded myself that their first “masterpiece” was likely a story no one ever praised.

No matter where our stories end up they all begin at the same place, the blank page. 

Interstellar_6      interstellar-movie

*I don’t claim the rights to any of these photos. Now, go buy your tickets for Interstellar!

About Sarah JS

Aspiring writer, lover of words, book nerd, working editor, and permanent student of the world

Posted on November 6, 2014, in A Writer's Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

