The Pleasures of Reading in an Age of Distraction: Book Review

porFirst, I have to admit that I read this book quite hastily and did not finish it. My attention wandered because I quickly realized that I am not the right audience for this book.

If you reguarly ask yourself the following questions (or others like them), this book may be perfect for you!

There are so many “Must Read” lists out there with so many titles, how am I ever suppose to decide what to read?

Does it really matter if I prefer reading on an e-reader vs a paper copy?

I just don’t get this stuff people call “great literature.” All these “cannon classics” are boring me to death. Do I really  have to read these to be considered a well-read person?

Is rereading my favorite book/series over and over actually going to rot my brain?

These are the types of questions Alan Jacobs, English professor, answers in this book. There were certainly interesting ideas and sound advice within and readers struggling to find pleasure in reading could find this book is the key to allowing them to enjoy reading again.

I love reading. I read fiction, nonfiction, classic literature, popular fiction, poetry, short stories, and whatever else I find intriguing and I love it all. If I don’t love it (like this book) I put it down and pick up the next set of bound pages that hovers near the top of my reading list. And, I don’t fret over people judging what I read. I, therefore, did not find this book reassuring or helpful. I simply felt it a waste, taking over time I could be reading something much more interesting.

I’m not going to rate this book because I didn’t give it the fair chance of reading it all the way through. I didn’t enjoy it, but that doesn’t mean you won’t!

About Sarah JS

Aspiring writer, lover of words, book nerd, working editor, and permanent student of the world

Posted on January 12, 2015, in Book Review and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I agree with you. I hate most classics. The language is difficult and the books are not that great either. If you consider the numbers, and what it would take to publish a book in the old days, any book that survived would be a classic.

    Now adays you have millions of authors and a lot of people screening them, so you can find amazing books.

Leave a Reply

