A look at my First Year of Blogging

Posting writing-focused book reviews is the most beneficial thing I did in 2014 to improve my personal writing (yes, even more so than completing NaNoWriMo in November. Check out my post on 10 Things I Learned from NaNoWriMo) It forces me to be critical and attentive to everything I read. I uncover tricks the writer incorporates, I pick apart the structure, characterization and voice the author uses and determine how they strengthen the work as a whole. I also figure out what specifically makes me like or dislike a book.

When I started this blog last January, I thought it was going to be a way to share what I already knew about books and writing but I turned out to be the student, not the teacher.

IMG_5561

Me in my writing room

 

So often when I sit down to write a book review, I’m still unsure what I want to write about or what I took away from the book but the process of putting my vague thoughts into words and paragraphs reveals characteristics about the story and the writing that otherwise would have dwindled away in my unconscious, never to be learned from. 

All of these things help me understand my own writing and provide constant ideas to improve it. Understanding my likes and dislikes of the things I read has helped me understand what I want my own stories to be and what I need to include to ensure they would be a story I would enjoy reading.

I also love the fact that this blog has connected me to a wider writing world than I have ever been a part of. Big thanks to everyone who liked and/or commented on my posts!

If you don’t mind, I’ll reminisce on few special blogs from the past year:

My First Blog Post:

My First Hello: A Fresh Literary and Writing Blog

My First Book Review:11.22.63

Blending Boundaries on a New Time-Travel Twist  This book review on Stephen King’s 11/22/63 reads more like a college essay than a blog, but hey, I had to start somewhere. Thankfully I’ve adapted a more simple, sparse, and easier-to-read format.

Fun posts:

Why I Named My Blog “Glass Typewriter” 

My Favorite Books of 2014! 

MazeRunner_coverMost Controversial (and Most Viewed) Post: 

The Maze Runner: A Deep Look into a Weak First-person Perspective Okay, so I didn’t cause a national uproar but this book review held very strong opinions and I was actually pleased that someone disagreed with me in the comments. I recently watch the Maze Runner movie (because my boyfriend insisted) and did enjoy it more than the book.

Also check out a few of my favorite posts from the year on the right hand side of my homepage! 

About Sarah JS

Aspiring writer, lover of words, book nerd, working editor, and permanent student of the world

Posted on January 29, 2015, in A Writer's Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

