Writing Quotes from AWP

So many quotes flooded through the rooms and hallways of AWP last weekend in Minneapolis and I wanted to share a few here. Enjoy!

Also, see my previous post, What to Read from AWP Writers.

The Writing Process 

“Inspiration comes in the middle of hard work.”

“What I write will always fall short of the ideal in my head. To write anyway, knowing that, is my greatest struggle.” 

“We are always translating ourselves–from thoughts to words.” -Pablo Medina

“Sometimes you are writing to learn how to write.”

“Finding a good ending is writing your way out of the story.” -Tom Hazuka

IMG_5637

Incorporating research/science into writing

“You’re going to make mistakes but there is a point where you get to say this is fiction, this world only exists between these two covers.” 

“Your reader will be convinced more quickly than you think. They want to believe you know what you’re talking about. A few specific details generally do more than a chapter of scientific detail.”

“What is true is not always factual.”

“Its more important to write the truth than to write the facts.” 

“By writing fiction, I hope to reach a wider audience than if I wrote nonfiction.”

“If I do too much research, it will kill the story.”

“Fake it as much as you can because you’re going to cut most of it anyway.”

“You’re trying to get to a deeper truth, a metaphorical truth.” 

From Poets

“Poems can encircle mystery in a way prose can not.” -Ted Kooser

This is something everyone in this audience has seen.” -Ted Kooser talking about his poet “Splitting an Order”

“What is true now, may not be true in the future. I’d be happy to tell you the truth if I knew what the truth was.” -Connie Wanek

Ted Kooser at AWP 2015

Ted Kooser at AWP 2015

Flash Fiction

“We always hear readers wanting more. They want to know more, more, more, so telling a story with less is courageous.” -Larry Smith, founder of Smith Magazine, known for its 6-word stories

“The 100-word story gives you a great feeling of completion.” -Grant Faulkner

“Flash fiction is about the spaces around the story.” -Grant Faulkner

“Trust the reader to fill in the backstory and the ending.”

Publishing quotes from editors of literary journals

“I really don’t know what I’m looking for until I see it.”

“I like to publish a mix of established and emerging writers.”

“Finding the right fiction is like hitting a moving target.”

“I can like nearly anything.”

Other

“Silence perpetuates mystery in fiction.” (Think Hills like white elephants)

“An MFA is a prerequisite to teach, but it is not a guarantee.”

“Take your manuscripts as far as you possibly can and have reasons to back up your craft choices before you send it to publishers/agents.”

 

**I tried to give credit to the mouths of these quotes as often as I could but please forgive me for the many I had to leave blank. I also tried to get the exact wording, but I certainly fell short.

About Sarah JS

Aspiring writer, lover of words, book nerd, working editor, and permanent student of the world

Posted on April 20, 2015, in A Writer's Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

