Pros and Cons of Reading Multiple Books at Once

5488408152_42bd76e792In the past, I have always been a 1-book-at-time gal and enjoyed it that way. For the past few years, I’ve gotten into reading two books at a time, one in paper and one on audiobook. I’m naturally a focused individual, not the greatest multitasker. Focusing on one thing at a time helps me get things done faster and to better quality. Thankfully, my mind can separate my paper book from my audiobook quite easily BUT I never read two paper books at the same time. If I begin a new book while in the middle of another, I’m unlikely to ever pick up that original book again.

I have always been hesitant to quit a book. I don’t like quitting (or taking breaks) in the middle of projects, whether its reading a book, mowing the lawn, or writing a story. But lately, I have encouraged myself to be more open to deserting bad/uninteresting books. There are too many great books out there to waste my time on something I’m not enjoying or learning from.

See my previous post on the subject, When to Drop a Bad Book.

Pros and Cons of reading multiple books at once, compiled from random blogs/articles:

Pros of Reading Multiple Books

Desire to read – One boring book won’t minimize your desire to read.

Flexibility – Being able to read more than one genre/story/author at a time. Choosing the book that matches your current mood.

Portability – Some books are more easily slipped into a purse or bag.

14086571452_19a7b0195d

Cons of Reading Multiple Books

Split focus – As I am constantly deciphering the writing as well as the story, this is a huge disadvantage for me. I like to study the arch and structure and consistency of the voice while reading a book and switching between multiple books would make this difficult.

Memory – The more books you read, the harder it is to retain all the information you’ve read. If you leave sit too long, you may forget what is happening.

Less invested – Personally, I’m less likely to get enchanted by a story and its characters if I’m juggling multiple stories.

Encourages Short Attention Span – Reading is one area that still requires concentration on one thing for a long period of time. Reading multiple books at once will drop reading into the I-need-it-NOW-and-QUICK culture.

About Sarah JS

Aspiring writer, lover of words, book nerd, working editor, and permanent student of the world

Posted on June 12, 2015, in A Writer's Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

