The Martian Book Review

The_Martian_2014If I had to limit this book review to one word, it would be HILARIOUS. I don’t remember the last time I laughed so hard or so often while reading. But, thankfully the internet does not limit our opinions and encourages us to ramble.

Things I Loved:

  • The story. Its unique, fun, and intriguing.
  • The suspense is constant and lasts until the very end. 
  • The intelligence mixed with imagination. Andy Weir’s mix of talents and interests is not common. The amount of scientific research that must be behind this novel is overwhelming to think about. His ability to balance humor, suspense, science, plot, and character is exceptional. v58E6SgE
  • Mark Watney. He’s hilarious, light-hearted, optimistic, vulnerable, tough, smart, resourceful, independent. He laughs at himself, makes 3rd-grade boobie jokes with the whole world watching him, figures out a way to grow food on a planet where nothing grows, and sometimes despises the little amount of help he actually receives. In literary terms, he is round.
  • The story behind the story. The Martian was originally self-published in 2011, then Crown Publishing bought the rights in 2014 and now in 2015, the story is being made into a major motion picture!
  • The first chapter immediately hooks the reader. I don’t know how anyone could read the first page and not want to buy this book! Future blog post to come on this topic! If Weir even tried to publish through normal channels in 2011, I’m shocked someone didn’t pick it up based on the first chapter alone!
  • Puns.  A novel about a man left alone on Mars is territory that has never before been explored.

Things That Bored Me:

Maybe the title is a little harsh, but there were certainly moments I was glad to be listening to The Martian on audiobook so I could fade away for a bit.

  • The science was too much at times, very necessary, but sometimes boring and over my head. I’m sure science geeks loved it!
  • Predictable. Three-fourths of the way through the novel, I felt like the same thing kept happening over and over. Watney found himself in a horrible, life-threatening situation and then he worked his way out of it with scientific creativity. The hurdles he had to jump over were very unique, but I began to loose the intensity of the danger because he was always turning out okay.
    • At one point I told two coworkers that I hoped Watney would die, simply because I wanted to be surprised. Both of their jaws dropped and several wide-eyed seconds of silence followed.

the-martian-screencap_1920.0.0

4.5…maybe 5 Stars

I loved the novel and will recommend it to anyone who has even the slightest interest. I’m not a science person, yet I loved it. The humor alone is worth the read! And I look forward to going to the movie this weekend!

About Sarah JS

Aspiring writer, lover of words, book nerd, working editor, and permanent student of the world

Posted on September 29, 2015, in Book Review and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. I finished reading this book last night, and thoroughly agree with your review. The science was a bit too detailed for me, and I found myself skimming towards the end of many paragraphs. Mark Watney is a hilarious and amazing main character, and made the whole book worth reading. I, too, was hoping for him to die just for a shock value ending. It was also sort of refreshing to read something without a love triangle or romantic interest. My favorite part of the book was that there was very little filler, and all substance.

    • I’m glad you said you were hoping for him to die because my coworkers thought I was a heartless fool for saying that. I also enjoyed that there was little filler and no love triangle. As a writer I know it is difficult to avoid having love drama in a novel-length piece but I agree it was very refreshing (and appropriate) here.

      Thanks for your comment!

  2. I agree there’s some witty moments in there that tickled me. Mark Watney is a great character. Are you going to watch the film?

    • Thanks for your comment, Jen! I am going to see the movie this Friday. I hope it makes me laugh as much as the book! And I’m expecting the movie to feel even more intense with all the visual effects they can do. Are you planning to see it?

      • Yes, I’m going to see it tomorrow. I’ve heard good things so fingers crossed! Judging from the trailers, I think Matt Damon is going to do a good job.

  3. Great review!! I loved this book and can’t wait to see the movie 🙂

  1. Pingback: Great First Paragraph(s) | Glass Typewriter

Leave a Reply

